Home

      
     Search:
   

 
Important Bibliographies, Indices, and Abstracts


Worldcat. Columbus, Ohio: OCLC. Union list of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art. Santa Monica : Getty Art History Information Program, 1973-  Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. BHA is updated quarterly and covers 1973 to the present. BHA includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. Santa Monica: Getty Trust, 1979 - Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.

Art Index Retrospective and Art AbstractsNew York: W. Wilson Col. Basic index to primarily English language art periodicals and museum bulletins. Coverage is comprehensive, with entries listed under author and subject. Good source for exhibition and book reviews. Reproductions of works of art listed separately under artist's name. Material indexed between 1929 and 1984 covered by Art Index Retrospective; later material covered by Art Abstracts

ATLA Religion Index. 1949- Produced by the American Theological Library Association, containing over one million records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languanges

Historical Abstracts . 1964- Abstracts of articles, books, dissertations, etc. on historical subjects after 1450. Do not use with IE on a Macintosh

ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance. Includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material, dissertations, and essays in compilations.

 

See also the Main Library Indexes and Databases Comprehensive Listing


 

 
Select Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

Ars Hispaniae: Historia Universal del Arte Hispanico. Madrid: Editorial Plus-Ultra, 1947-1977 v.1-22 . Art N7101 A78 1-22 . A comprehensive multivolume history of Spanish art and architecture written by specialists in each area. Well illustrated. Each volume has a detailed bibliography and indexes by subjects, places, and persons.

 

 

Historia del Arte Hispanico. Madrid: Alhambra, 1978 v.1-22 . Art N7101 H54 1-6. Another comprehensive history of Spanish art and architecture from prehistoric times to the twentieth century. Updates Ars Hispaniae. Also includes illustrations and bibliographies in each volume.

 

Italian and Spanish Art, 1600-1750: Sources and Documents / Robert Enggass and Jonathan Brown. Evanston: Northwestern University Press, 1992. Art N6916 E5 1992 . A complilation of important documents in the history of Italian and Spanish art for the period. All documents have been translated into English.

 

 

Diccionario de historia de España / dirigido por German Bleiberg. Madrid: Alianza, 1979. 3 vols. Main Ref DP56 D5 1979 . General Encyclopedia of Spanish History and Culture. Volume 3 contains an extensive bibliography.

 

 

Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire / James S. Olson et. al. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992. Main Ref DP56 H57 1992 . General Encyclopedia of Spanish History and Culture. Volume 3 contains an extensive bibliography.

 

The Encyclopedia of Islam. Leiden: E.J. Brill, 1960-. Main Ref DS37 E523 . Provides detailed coverage of the Arabic World, including Mosarab Spain.

 


 

Images Sources (Online)


 
 

Profile

Tom Hill

Contact Info:
Telephone: x5791
Office: Vassar College Art Library
Email Me
View My Website / Blog
View My Other Guides

My Subjects:
Art, Classics, Russian, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, Media Studies

 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide



Description

  Loading content... please wait