This is the "FREE Music Scores on the Internet" page of the "Digitized Musical Scores Available On the Internet" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
ask a librarian

Digitized Musical Scores Available On the Internet   Tags: digital, scores  

This list is not exhaustive, but demonstrates the range of digitized scores that are available free on the internet as of March 2009.
Last Updated: Oct 14, 2009 URL: http://libguides.vassar.edu/DigitalScores Print Guide RSS Updates

FREE Music Scores on the Internet Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Manuscripts

 American Memory, the Library of Congress.

The Performing Arts section includes 32 collections ranging from classical to popular and folk musics, broadsides to music manuscripts in the  Moldenhauer Archives.

 

Bach Digital

Beethoven-Haus Bonn.  

Music manuscripts, sketches and printed music by Beethoven and other composers.

 

 

Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music.

University of Oxford, and Royal Holloway University of LondonWill also include Chopin’s First Editions Online. YOU MUST SET UP A LOGIN, BUT IT IS FREE.

 

 Juilliard Manuscript Collection

The extraordinary collection of 138 music autograph manuscripts, sketches, engraver’s proofs and early editions given to Juilliard.

 

Parker Library on the Web.

Vassar does not have a subscription, but this free Beta version Includes the Winchester Troper.  YOU MUST SET UP A LOGIN, BUT IT IS FREE.

 

Prague Conservatory Library

"The Manuscriptorium is a system for collecting and making accessible on the internet information on historical book resources, linked to a virtual library of digitised documents. The Manuscriptorium service is financed by the National Library of the Czech Republic and managed by AiP Beroun s.r.o." Many are only partially available with the following exceptions. "For demonstration purposes, [they] have made available a small (but nevertheless very interesting) selection from the holdings of digitised manuscripts, old printed books and maps presently accessible via the Manuscriptorium database."

 

University of North Texas Digital Collections.

“The University of North Texas Music Library’s Virtual Rare Book Room is composed primarily of digitized materials held in the Edna Mae Sandborn Music Rare Book Room. The collection is particularly strong in eighteenth-century French opera, due in large part to the influence of musicologist Lloyd Hibberd on the development of the collection. In addition to holdings from the UNT Music Library, the Virtual Rare Book Room also contains some items that have been borrowed from private collectors and scanned with permission.”

 

 

 

 

 

Published Editions

Published editions: could be either scanned or provided using music notation software.  Most are in (PDF) format.  Site selected are primarily scholarly, but watch for arrangements and errors  in items provided in music notation software and check to make sure the entire work, or the portion you are interested in, is present.

 

University of Chicago Library. Chopin Early Editions.

 

Chopin’s First Editions Online.

Neue Mozart Ausgabe

Mutopia Project

“Offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain, and include works by Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart, and many others. A team of volunteers are involved in typesetting the music by computer using the LilyPond software. We also host a growing number of modern editions, arrangements and new music. The respective editors, arrangers and composers have chosen to make these works freely available.” 

 

Sibley Music Library of the University of Rochester.

“Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.”

 

Indiana University, Variations Project.

“The following selections lead to experimental prototypes of the ways in which musical scores and recording liner notes might be used in conjunction with sound recordings available online through VARIATIONS.”  Includes a few examples from the operatic , song, orchestral, choral, solo instrumental, and chamber ensemble literature from the Indiana University collection.

WIMA: Werner Icking Music Archive. http://icking-music-archive.org/index.php

“The Sheet Music Archive is part of the Werner Icking Music Archive archive. It contains ready-to-print sheet music, most in the form of PDF files. A few scores are only available in compressed Postscript format”

 

Choral Public Domain Library

"Begun in December 1998, CPDL is one of the world's largest free sheet music sites. You can use CPDL to find scores, texts, translations, and information about composers.”

 

 

Brigham Young University.

“This site is devoted to the documentation and promotion of harp music from the 18th and 19th centuries.”

 

Lysator, Linköping University.

“Here you can find modern editions of a lot of music from the 17:th and 18:th century, many of them not available in any other modern form.” (“Lysator is an academic computer club at Linköping University. Its purpose is to provide members the opportunity to explore computers and computer science.”

 

 

Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities, Stanford University.

“An electronic library of classical music scores”  YOU MUST SET UP A LOGIN, BUT IT IS FREE.

 

Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities, Stanford University.

“CCARH Publications: Scores & Parts.”  Additional scores to musedata.org. No login required to see these scores.

 

Pianopublicdomain.com.

“Over 20,000 pages of high-quality piano sheet music” YOU MUST SET UP A LOGIN FOR THE DOWNLOADS, BUT IT IS FREE.

 

WLSCM .

“A service offered by the Society of Seventeenth-Century Music to its members and to the musical community at large. It presents new editions of seventeenth-century compositions that have remained unpublished or that are not available commercially.” (“Hosted by the Duke University College of Arts and Sciences”)

 

The Petrucci Music Library.

 “Our goal is to create a virtual library containing all public domain musical scores and sheet music, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge.”

 

Sheetmusicfox.

Scores to the LEFT of the composer photos are FREE.  Those on the right lead to commercial sites.

 

Musicopen. http://www.musopen.com/sheetmusic.php

“An online music library of copyright free (public domain) music. We want to give the world access to music without the legal hassles so common today.”

 

The Sheet Music Consortium .

“A group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music using the Open Archives Initiative:Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI:PMH).” Sponsored by UCLA.

 

Bayerische StaatsBibliothek, Münchener Digitalisierungszentrum Digitale Bibliothek.

Includes 19th century collected works editions for Händel, Mendelssohn and Liszt.

 

Harvard University Library's (HUL) Library Digital Initiative.  

"An expansible resource of scanned images of rare and unique musical scores that will be freely available via the Web for classroom and research use at Harvard and to scholars all over the world.”

 

University of North Texas Digital Collections.

 

American Memory, the Library of Congress.


 

 

 

 

Collections of Folk and Popular Sheet Music

American Memory, the Library of Congress.

 

UNC-Chapel Hill Music Library.

This project provides web access, through digital scanning and descriptive indexing, to a unique collection of American music material in the UNC-Chapel Hill Music Library.”


Brown University, John Hay Library.

The Yiddish language sheet music in this digital collection is part of the large Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library.”

 

19th Century California Sheet Music.

created by Mary Kay Duggan. “A virtual library of some 2,700 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900, together with related materials such as a San Francisco publisher's catalog of 1872, programs, songsheets, advertisements, and photographs.”

 

British Columbia Sheet Music.



The Frances G. Spencer Collection of American Sheet Music, Baylor University. 

"One of the few collections of its kind and size in the country. Acquired by Baylor University in 1965, this collection of approximately 30,000 titles was the life-long pursuit of the avid and well-respected sheet music collector for whom the collection is named.”

 

Sheet music collection, University of Colorado at Boulder.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Photo: Skinner Hall of Music SARAH CANINO, Music Librarian
Contact Info
SKINNER HALL OF MUSIC, 1st floor
DICKINSON MUSIC LIBRARY
845-437-7492
SACANINO@VASSAR.EDU
Send Email
Subjects:
MUSIC
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip