Skip to main content Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College

Urban Studies Thesis Writers

Request a Research Consultation

Submit a Research Consultation Form to arrange a meeting with me. I generally respond within 24 hours and can meet with you within a couple days.

For immediate assistance, please feel free to contact the on-call librarian (sometimes it's me!)

All hours and contact information are available on our library website here:

Databases and Articles (news and scholarly)

On the yellow database tab on library website, click see all link for page display of databases sorted by departments/programs and by content type. Browse under different headings to see what databases might contribute to your project.  Browsing using the "by content type" headings is the best way to explore our newspaper and popular magazine digital collections, in addition to government information and more.
Urban Studies database list.

Ask yourself what sources and evidence you want to find?

Think about where those sources are likley to have been publshed. (e.g. In journals in what discipline? or In what newspaper?)

Think about the purpose of publication and likely audience for the sources you seek. (e.g. In the magazine of an activist group or a newsletter for a community group?)

 

Citing Sources

More about Refworks

Refworks is software application Vassar Library subscribes to that works similarly to free applications such as EasyBib or Zotero. While most popularly known for how they will auto-format and create bibliographies, Refworks and the like are most helpful for storing and organizing your research, especially books and articles found in library catalogs and databases.

A key benefit to using Refworks instead of other applications is that Refworks is linked to our library holdings. When you gather references from Vassar Library databases in Refworks, the "360 link to full-text" icon, which is the link-resolver that provides access to full text when available, appears in RefWorks.

How to: Mark and save a list of citations in one of the library's databases or catalog. Generally you have to click on something that says "folder" or "marked list".  In our catalog, there's a button on the top of the page that says "view saved".  Select the EXPORT option on the same page as the option to email yourself the list. With all of your references in Refworks, you can create folders to organize them.

TIP:  After you click "Create Bibliography" you see a dialog box where you can select your citation style from a drop down list.  Further down is another drop down with output options. The default is HTML.  Change it to Word so you can easily edit the document to correct the inevitable mistakes made during auto-formatting.

Books Beyond Vassar

Use InterLibrary Loan  for books not available at Vassar or through Connect NY.

Check out HathiTrust for any books published pre 1928. HathiTrust is a project creating high quality digital versions the print book collections of a consortium of prestigious university libraries. 1928 is a copyright cut-off; all titles before this date are available for free on their site.



Vassar Home | Digital Media Zone | Learning, Teaching & Research Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu