Skip to main content Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College

MUSIC 247: MUSIC AND IDEAS II: MOZART

ENLIGHTENMENT AND IN THE INFLUENCE OF RATIONALISM. (16th century to 1830s) RESOURCE GUIDE FOR THE MOZART ASSIGNMENT.

GENERAL MUSIC ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

 

[Mus Ref Book ML100 .N48]

The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians. London : Macmillan Publishers ; Washington, D.C. : Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 2001. 29 volumes.

 

Grove Music Online

Grove Music Online updates the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002) and includes access to other Oxford music reference tools.

 

Grove music online is "the first stop for music research." In English. Both online and print versions include extensive bibliographies and lists of composers works ("works lists') Online version is updated periodically. Includes biographies and subjects; arranged alphabetically.

 

 

[Mus Ref Book ML100 .M92 1994]

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik. 2., neubearbeitete Ausg. Kassel ; New York : Bärenreiter ; Stuttgart : Metzler, c1994-2007. 27 volumes.

In German. Excellent bibliographies and works lists. Arranged in 2 sections: Sachteil (subjects) and Personenteil (Biographies)  Arranged alphabetically in both sections.

Mozart Chronologies

 

Clive, H. P.
Mozart and his circle : a biographical dictionary / Peter Clive.
New Haven, CT : Yale University Press, 1993.
CALL # Mus Lib RESERVE REF ML410.M9 C55 1993.

p. 1-6.

 

Hastings, Baird. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : a guide to research. New York : Garland, 1989.

Call # [Mus Ref Book RESERVE ML134.M9 H34 1989]

p. 3-16.

 

The Mozart compendium : a guide to Mozart's life and music /
edited by H.C. Robbins Landon. New York : Schirmer Books, 1990.
CALL # Mus Lib RESERVE ML410.M9 M6995 1990.

p. 12-33.

 

 

Specifics on Mozart's life

The Cambridge companion to Mozart / edited by Simon B. Keefe.
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2003.

Call # ML410.M9 C255 2003

·         Mozart and Saltzburg

·          Mozart and Vienna

·          Mozart’s compositional methods

·         Reception of  Mozart’s works

·         Performance practice

 

 

*The Cambridge Mozart encyclopedia / edited by Cliff Eisen and
Simon P. Keefe. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2006.
CALL # Mus Lib RESERVE ML410.M9 C257 2006.

·         Alphabetical entries on broad subjects, genres and specific works,

·         Some people are included, but detailed information on them

·         Bibliographies for further information.

 

 

*Clive, H. P.Mozart and his circle : a biographical dictionary / Peter Clive.
New Haven, CT : Yale University Press, 1993.
CALL # Mus Lib RESERVE REF ML410.M9 C55 1993.

·         Persons in  Mozart’s life

·         Masonic lodges

·         Mozart operas

·         Theaters in Vienna in  Mozart’s time

·         Also includes an index to  Mozart’s works-which helps to make associations with individuals in  Mozarts life.

 

 

Hastings, Baird. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : a guide to research. New York : Garland, 1989.

Call # [Mus Ref Book RESERVE ML134.M9 H34 1989]

·         Geographical  register of towns Mozart visited

·         Alphabetical dictionary of  Mozart’s contemporaries

·         Pupils

·         Patrons

·         Characters and identifiable locales in  Mozart’s works

 

 

*The Mozart compendium : a guide to Mozart's life and music /
edited by H.C. Robbins Landon. New York : Schirmer Books, 1990.
CALL # Mus Lib RESERVE ML410.M9 M6995 1990.

·          “Who’s Who” Family Tree

·         Section on M’s patrons.

·         Historical background of time period reception of his works

·         Musical background

·          Mozart as an individual

·          Mozart’s opinions and outlook*.

·         Mozart and the theater of his time

·         Performance practice

·         Brief Information about primary sources: portraits, letters and documents, music mss

 

 

European Mozart Ways  Mozart's journeys, letters, places, and brief biography.

"The European Mozart Ways are an international network connecting cities, regions and institutions in 10 European countries visited by Mozart during his travels, which covered over half of his lifetime and contributed in a most decisive way to the constitution of this unsurpassable figure of Western culture." Promotes tourism. Gateway to a database of Mozart's letters "In Mozart's Words" (still under construction).

Vassar Home | Digital Media Zone | Learning, Teaching & Research Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu