Skip to main content Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College

Africana Studies

Reference Sources

Reference Sources

The sources listed below are useful for getting background information, defining a topic, gathering statistics, and locating other material through bibliographies. Sources are both print and electronic and include encyclopedias and dictionaries, atlases, web links, bibliographies, and so on.

Find reference books by searching for subjects in the online catalog and adding a subheading such as Bio-bibliography--Dictionaries; Biography; Encyclopedias; Handbooks, manuals, etc.; Statistics.


Bibliographies

  • Africa Bibliography (Z 3503.A34)
    1984-current. Delay in publishing. Latest received 2001.

Biography

  • African American Biographies: Profiles of 558 Current Men and Women (Ref. E 185.96.H38 1992)

  • African American Women: a Biographical Dictionary (Ref. E 185.96.A45 1993)

  • Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950 (Microfiche)

  • Black Women in America: an Historical Encyclopedia (Ref. E 185.86.B542 1993)

  • Notable Black American Women (Ref. E 185.96.N68 1992)

Country Information

  • CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
    Covers theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, books, journals, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, policy briefs and economic indicators. Also includes maps and country data and more.


Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Atlases, Handbooks

  • The African-American Atlas: Black History and Culture--An Illustrated Reference (Ref. Folio E 185 A79 1998)
  • Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience (Ref. DT 14.A37435 1999)
  • Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery (Ref. E 441.D53 1988)
  • Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (Ref. E 185.E54 1996 & Suppl)
  • Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage (Electronic Book-NetLibrary)
  • The Negro Almanac (Ref. E 185.N385 1989)

Literature

  • African-American Authors, 1745-1945: Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook (Ref. PS 153.N5 A32 2000)
  • African American Poets: Lives, Works, and Sources (Ref. PS 153.N5 P48 2002)

  • African American Writers (Ref. PS 153.N5 A344 2001)
  • Black Writers: a Selection of Sketches from Contemporary Authors (Ref. PS 153.N5 B56 1989)

  • Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature (Ref. PS 153.N5 C59 2001)

  • Contemporary African American Novelists: a Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook (Ref. PS 374.N4 C658 1999)

  • Contemporary Authors (Ref. PN 451.C66 and Ref. PN 451.C67)

  • The Harlem Renaissance and Beyond: 100 Black women writers, 1900-1950 (Ref. PS 153.N5 R65 1989)
  • Langston Hughes Encyclopedia (Main PS 3515.U274 Z459 2002)

  • Masterpieces of African-American Literature (Ref. PS 153 N5 M264 1992)
  • Oxford Companion to African American Literature (Ref. PS 153.N5 O96 1997)

  • Toni Morrison Encyclopedia (Main PS 3563.O8749 Z913 2003)

  • Zora Neale Hurston Companion (Main PS 3515.U789 Z464 2002)

Politics, Government, and Law

  • Africa Research Bulletin. Economic, Financial and Technical Series. 1985-current (Ref. DT 1.A2365) Also Online.
  • Africa Research Bulletin. Political, Social, and Cultural Series. 1985-current (Ref. DT 1.A2375) Also Online.
  • Africa South of the Sahara (Ref. DT 3351.A37 2004)
  • Historical Dictionary of School Segregation and Desegregation : the American Experience (Ref. LC 212.52.R34 1998)
  • The Middle East and North Africa. (Ref. DS 49.M5 2004)
  • Political Leaders of Contemporary Africa South of the Sahara: a Biographical Dictionary (Ref. DT 352.8.P63 1992)

Vassar Home | Digital Media Zone | Learning, Teaching & Research Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu