Skip to main content Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College

Women in Medieval & Renaissance Culture

Library Catalogs

  • Vassar College Library
  • Connect New York (CNY)
    • check here for books that are already checked out and books Vassar doesn't own
  • WorldCat (ILL)
    • check here for books not available through CNY and to find out if an author's papers are housed in an archive

 

Article Databases

MLA Bibliography

An international index to books, journals and dissertations on the modern languages and literatures, including linguistics and folklore.

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)

Indexes books, periodical articles, book reviews, collections of essays and dissertations. Covers English language syntax, phonology, lexicology, etc. and English poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory and studies of individual authors, bibliography, and traditional culture of the English-speaking world (custom, belief, narrative, song, dance and material culture)

ATLA Religion Index

Religion and theology scholarship in journals and multi-author works.

Historical Abstracts

Indexes journals, books and dissertations on history of the world, excluding US and Canada. Coverage of European events and culture begins with 1450.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed.

International Medieval Bibliography (Brepolis)

ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance

A bibliography of 250,000+ articles and reviews drawn from 400+ medieval and renaissance journals. Plus a growing bibliography of monographs pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

JStor

Contains searchable full text of many scholarly journals from their first publication up to 5 years prior to the current year. Use the "advanced search" to limit to discipline(s) or publication(s).

Project Muse (Johns Hopkins Press et al)

University of Chicago Press

contains searchable full text of most recent issues of Signs, Renaissance Quarterly, History of Religions, etc.

Duke University Press

contains searchable full text of must recent issues of Journal of Medieval and Renaissance Studies, French Historical Studies, etc.

Web of Science

Contains indexing of most of the important journals in the humanities and social sciences in the U.S., and many from abroad.  WoS tends to be more up to date than many subject indexes, such as ITER and International Medieval Bibliography.  The "Cited Reference Search" allows you to search the footnotes for cited works, including films and literary works.  To search for a film as a cited source, use the director's name as author.  Try searching without a film title, since abbreviations of titles are inconsistent.  You can then select a range of abbreviated titles that match what you're looking for.  If you're just getting started with citation searching, this is a great time to talk to a research librarian and get some helpful hints!

Searching within a Journal Title

1. Select the "Journal" tab on the library website.

2. Type in Journal title.

3. Notice the coverage dates for online and print resources.

 

Vassar Home | Digital Media Zone | Learning, Teaching & Research Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu