Skip to main content Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College

Film Guide to Resources

Film Specific Databases and Indexes

These indexes cover journals and other material specifically related to film and media studies.  Some of them contain full-text of journals, and those that don't usually provide links to the full-text if it's available via other databases in the Vassar collection.

All databases are available from the Library home page under Indexes and Databases alphabetically and by subject.

Film & Television Literature Index

F&TLI is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film.  Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of nearly 300), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and 100 books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.


FIAF International Film and Television Archive

coverage: 1972-present

The FIAF International FilmArchive Database is published by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) and contains several databases: the International Index to Film Periodicals, the International Index to Television Periodicals, the List of Periodicals Indexed ,the Treasures from the Film Archives, the Bibliography of FIAF Members Publications and the International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections. The main database, the International Index to Film Periodicals contains over 230,000 article references from more than 300 periodicals. The database, which cumulates citations from the annual printed volume, offers in-depth coverage of the worlds foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present.


Communication and Mass Media Complete

CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 640 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 326 journals. 


Film Literature Index Online

coverage: 1976-2001 (no full-text)

The Film Literature Index annually indexed 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.

Related Subject and General Indexes/Databases

Proquest Research Library 


MLA Bibliography

Coverage: 1963 - Present

Indexes scholarly journals, dissertations and monographs pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.  It covers cinema and film journals selectively, focusing on the film as text and film adaptations of literary sources.


America: History & Life

Includes indexing and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations on culture and history.  A:H&L covers the U.S. and Canada, while Historical Abstracts covers the rest of the world.  It's particularly useful for finding articles about the cultural context and impact of films and the history of the film industry.


Project Muse

A full text collection of scholarly journals in the humanities, Project Muse contains many titles that focus on cultural criticism, including film.

Vassar Home | Digital Media Zone | Learning, Teaching & Research Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu