Libraries

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

Ask a Librarian
FAQ

Biology

This guide will help you navigate information resources in biology.

Catalogs

Vassar Library Search
Access the vast resources available at the Vassar College Libraries. Use Library Search to locate books, special collections, media, government documents, and electronic resources, including journals, journal articles, ebooks, databases, and more.

Library Search
Use the Library Search to find print and electronic books and periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers) owned by the Library, as well as other media. Use the drop-down menus to specify the type of search you want to conduct. When Vassar does not have the book you need or our copy is not available, search Connect NY.
ConnectNY
Search the combined catalogs of 14 academic libraries in New York (including Vassar). You can request books not owned by Vassar or books that are checked out at Vassar; books arrive in 2-4 days.
WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and provides a search interface for the combined collections of college, university, public, and special libraries across the United States as well as some international holdings.

E-Book Collections

Springer eBooks
The Library provides access to thousands of e-books published by Springer spanning the fields of astronomy, chemistry, computer science, life science, earth science, math, and physics. Coverage extends from 2005 to present; accessible titles are indicated by a green square. These books can also be found by searching the Vassar Library Catalog.
Google Books -- Biology
A service from Google that searches the full text of books that Google has scanned and stored in its digital database. Depending on copyright restrictions, you may only be able to preview a small portion of the book.

Search Tips for Using the Vassar Library Search

When you find a book of interest, note the location, write down the call number, and check the status. Also look at the subject headings assigned to the book; you might find it useful to click on these headings to find similar books on your topic.

Click here for help understanding book locations and call numbers.

Call Numbers in Biology

Books in Vassar Library are assigned a call number according to the Library of Congress classification system. The call number consists of a combination of letters and numbers, and is designed so that books on similar topics will be near each other on the shelf and easy to browse.

If you want to browse the collection, call number ranges are as follows:

QH301 to QH705.5 -- General biology, Evolution, Genetics, Reproduction, Life, Ecology, Cytology, Economic biology

QK1 to QK989 -- General botany, Spermatophyta, Cryptogams, Plant anatomy, Plant physiology, Plant ecology

QL1 to QL991 -- General zoology, Invertebrates, Chordates (including fishes, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals), Animal behavior, Morphology, Anatomy, Embryology

QM1 to QM695 -- General human anatomy, Regional anatomy, human and comparative histology, Human embryology

QP1 to QP 981 -- General physiology, Neurophysiology and neuropsychology, Animal biochemistry, Experimental pharmacology

QR1 to QR502 -- General microbiology, Bacteria, Cyanobacteria, Microbial ecology, Microorganisms in the animal body, Immunology, Virology

Also note that materials on medicine can be found in the call numbers spanning R5 to RZ999, while psychology books are found from BF1 to BF990. If you are looking for agriculture browse from S1 to SK664.