Current U.S. DocumentsHistorical U.S. DocumentsU.S. Census
This is the "U.S. Government Documents" page of the "Finding Government Documents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
ask a librarian

Finding Government Documents   Tags: documents, government, law, new_york, united_nations  

Guide to finding U.S., State, and United Nations documents in Vassar's collection and on the web.
Last Updated: May 5, 2015 URL: http://libguides.vassar.edu/govdocs Print Guide RSS Updates

U.S. Government Documents Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

  Vassar has been a Federal Depository Library for selected U.S. Government documents since 1943 and currently receives approximately 25% of the titles available in print through the Federal Depository Program.

Most publications are added to the "Documents Collection," arranged by Superintendent of Documents (Su Doc) classification numbers.   Some are in the Main Library collection (Library of Congress call numbers)  An increasing number are available electronically.

Use databases listed in this guide under the  "Current Documents" and "Historical Documents" tabs, and the library's online catalog to identify documents.  See the box on the right for document locations -->


U.S. documents at Vassar are available to the public.   

Best Places to Start

 

  • Vassar Library Online Catalog
    As a Federal Depository Library we receive copies of many US government documents and make them available in our collections. For online documents we make links available in the catalog record. Tip: search "United States" as the author
  • FEDSys
    Online portal from the US Government Printing Office. Provides access to collections of bills, laws, government reports, and Public Papers of the Presidents. Open access for all users.
  • USA.gov
    USA.gov is the official U.S. portal to federal, state, local, tribal, and international government information and services.
  • HathiTrust
    HathiTrust is a shared digital repository that brings together the collections (including the US government documents collections) of many research libraries. HathiTrust is the best place to search for government reports published prior to 1923.
  • American Presidency Project (UCSB)
    Public Papers of the Presidents, Presidential addresses, Executive Orders, Convention Speeches, and more
 

Documents at Vassar

Where are the U.S. Gov Docs in Vassar Library?

  • Stack I (Superintendent of Documents number)
  • Microtext Room (microfiche, by SuDocs number)
  • Main collection (LC call numbers)
  • Digital link through the online catalog or databases
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip