Major ongoing online bibliography for classical studies: literature, language, art, philosophy, social, political and cultural history, textual criticism, epigraphy, archeology, numismatics. Covers scholarship since 1929-present.
Now in its 4th edition, the OCD is a scholarly mini-encyclopedia of people, events, places in the classical world. Signed articles. Some bibliography. It's a great way to identify good editions of primary texts. The print volume is in the Reference Collection at DE5 .O9 2012. Earlier editions are in the circulating collection at the same call number.
The standard encyclopedia that covers the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean to late antiquity. The online edition is in both English and German. For the print versions, see: Der neue Pauly: Enzyklopadie der Antike. Stuttgart : J.B. Metzler, c1996- (complete in 16 vol.).
Location: Reference DE5 .P34 1996
And also the English translation: Brill's New Pauly: encyclopaedia of the ancient world. Hubert Cancik and Helmut Schneider, eds. Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2002- .
The English edition is divided into two print editions:
Antiquity (Location: [Reference DE5 .P3413 2006]
Classical Tradition (Location: [Reference DE5 .P34213]
An earlier print edition is also still useful:
Paulys Real-Encyclopadie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, neue Bearb.. 24 vols, 10 vol continuation, 15 vol supplement. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1893-1978.
Location: [Main DE 5 .P33]
Before you start using this website, you need to install Brill’s New Pauly font. Instructions provided on website.