Skip to main content Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College

HIST/WMST 261: Women in Twentieth Century America

A companion to research for Ms. Cohen's course.

Request a Research Consultation

Submit a Research Consultation Form to arrange a meeting with me. I generally respond within 24 hours and can meet with you within a couple days.

For immediate assistance, please feel free to contact the on-call librarian (sometimes it's me!)

All hours and contact information are available on our library website here:

Secondary Sources

The notes and bibliographies of secondary sources are a great place to find citations for primary sources. With a citation you can locate a published primary source in Vassar Library's catalog or request it though InterLibrary Loan. Always ask a librarian for help if you can't locate a source you have a citation for.

Primary Sources

What types of primary sources might be illustrative for my research questions?  Some options to consider are:

Personal narrative sources - Diaries, letters, memoirs

Media sources - Newspapers, magazines (aka periodicals) Remember to seek out alternative press as well as mainstream publications.

Organizations' sources - Identify associations or groups that addressed issues related to your research topic. Organizations often have primary sources such as meeting minutes, member correspondence, publicity materials (posters, pamplets, magazines)

Government and legal sources - Court cases, Congressional Record, state and federal departments and agencies

Searching for Primary Sources in the Library Catalog

Try Author and Subject searches for prominent people, organizations or movements

Identify the Library of Congress Subject Headings associated with your topic.  They are effective keywords and browsing Subject Headings will lead you to sources you could otherwise overlook.  

These keywords are Library of Congress Subject Heading vocabulary indicating primary sources:sources, letters, interviews, speeches, personal narratives, diaries, correspondence, sermons, notebooks, sketches, description and travel, treaties, pamphlets, biography (includes memoirs), newspapers, periodicals, pictorial works, art, architecture, portraits, caricatures and cartoons, cookery, decorative arts, furniture, material culture, guide books, maps, fiction, poetry, periodicals, newspapers, bibliography

Archives and Special Collections

If you are interested in working with archival material, you may choose to use sources from our Archives and Special Collections library. In addition to the Archives of Vassar College, this Library also contains material of general interest and significance to United States women's history after 1890.

Vassar Home | Digital Media Zone | Learning, Teaching & Research Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu