-Take notes of the Subject Headings - Shelf browse in library stacks, scanning footnotes, bibliographies, tables of content, indexes - Search personal and organization names as authors - Be willing to explore and move between multiple formats (print, digital, microfilm)
This is a specialized index of scholarly journals for historians. Citations displayed here can include scholarly articles, book reviews, book chapters, and books. It indexes MORE than Vassar may own, so you may need to use InterLibrary Loan. It is not searching the full-text of individual articles as a digital journal collection like JSTOR does. It is searching citations and abstracts only, but will link you through to the full-text if it is available at Vassar.
includes access to Chicago Defender, International Index to Black Periodicals and Marshall Index.
Black Press: Vassar has magazines and newspapers in print, digital and microform. Look up any individual title in our catalog to see if it is in our collection. This catalog search for "african american newspapers" captures many titles. You can also browse the list of digital newspaper and magazines databases at Vassar (single title and journal collections) here. Center for Research Libraries is another great source for United States ethnic and alternative press and can be requested using InterLibrary Loan. Ask a librarian for details on how to place request.
Bayard Rustin papers
Mary McLeod Bethune Papers
Papers of A. Philip Randolph
Records of the American Committee on Africa
Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters
Records of the Nat'l Association of Colored Women's Clubs
Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference
Papers of the Revolutionary Action Movement, 1962-1996
League of Revolutionary Black Workers, 1965-1976
The Claude A. Barnett Papers: The Associated Negro Press