Skip to main content

Today's hours:

See all library hours »

Ask a Librarian

Research Services

For students

Meet your librarians

Meet the research team

Vassar librarians provide individual consultations, class instruction and other research services in support of class assignments, fellowship proposals, field work and other initiatives and interests of our student, staff and faculty community.

Each Department and Program at Vassar has a librarian liaison. We also develop courses, workshops and other programs.

Ask your questions

Libraries are complex. Do not hesitate to ask questions. All inquiries are encouraged and welcomed. Your librarians can help you use your research time effectively and efficiently.

  • Walk-in questions: Ask for a librarian at the front desk in library lobby every Monday-Friday 9:00am-5:00pm
  • Email a librarian after hours
  • Schedule an individual or small group consultation with a librarian liaison for the Department/Program matching your research needs

For faculty

Research Instruction and Consultation

Vassar librarians are your pedagogical partners. We welcome collaboration to design research experiences for your classes, advisees or other projects and initiatives that will:

  • teach search skills and research strategies across disciplines
  • foster interest in exploring our collections
  • encourage critical inquiry and self-reflection
  • cultivate open minded and inclusive practice and dialog within our scholarly community

Contact your librarian liaison to discuss.

Research Assistant Training Request Form

 

 

 

Library Research Skills Instruction

Scholarly communication

Open access and scholarship, citation management, data management, and more.

JSTOR

Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, architecture and art history and other fields. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title, but usually ends several years before the current year.

Citing Sources

Guidelines and formats for citing references.

African American Communities

African American Communities

Focusing predominantly on the African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina, this collection features issues of desegregation, urban renewal & housing, civil rights activities, race relations, and community integration using pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, in-depth oral histories, photographs, maps and ephemera.

By WEB DuBois, Oswald G. Villard, J. Max Barber, Charles Edward Russell, Kelly Miller, W. S. Braithwaite, M D Maclean - Library of Congress, General Collections, (026.00.00) [Digital ID # na0026], Public Domain,

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

More than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans, including titles such as Black Panther, early issues of The Crisis, many regional publications and theme-based magazines, like Beauty Trade, a fashion magazine. The collection ranges over more than 150 years of American life, from slavery during the Antebellum Period through the Civil Rights Movement.

Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ history and culture since 1940

This collection features manuscripts from ACT-UP: The Aids Coalition to Unleash Power, and the Herstory: Feminist Newspapers collection. Both of these sets represent grassroots groups that present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century.

Associated Press Collections Online

This collection presents Associated Press news wires from the European and Middle East bureaus--Ankara, Beirut, Berlin, Bern, Geneva, Jerusalem, Prague, Vienna, and Warsaw--from the mid-20th century to early 21st century.

CRC Handbook

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

Online edition of the Handbook with interactive tables that can be sorted, customized, exported, or printed. Includes searchable PDF archive back to the 84th edition.

Encyclopaedia of the Neo-Latin World

Traces the history and cultural influence of Neo-Latin, the form of Latin that originated in the Italian Renaissance and persists to the modern era, including literature, law, philosophy, and the sciences.

Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958

This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime and sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.

Naxos Music Library Jazz: AUDIO DATABASE

Naxos Music Library Jazz is a streaming collection of jazz music. Try it out and listen to a wide range of jazz genres with over 12,000 artists and 180,000 tracks, representing 270 labels.

IMF eLibrary Complete

If you need information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, and poverty reduction,try out the IMFund's elibrary! We have access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.

Tools and guides

  • Research guides by subject
  • Going to the Source
  • Citing Sources

Ask us

Libraries