Skip to main content Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College

WMST/STS 281 Gender and Science

Resources for 2nd paper.

VC Newspapers: Using the Newspaper Archive

Browse by Date

If you know a particular era or specific date, you can browse issues using the calendar option located on the home page.

Searching

You can perform a simple search by typing keywords in the search box on the home page and clicking "Search". The search engine will return results that include all of your search terms.

You can search for an exact phrase by placing quotation marks around your search terms, for example "Julia Lathrop".

The "Refine search" area gives you a number of options to limit your search results, such as by date or by a particular publication.

Advanced search

Conduct a simple search from the home page, then choose, the Advanced Search tab. This allows you to limit your search results from the start of your search by one or more publications and/or a date range.

It also allows you to search within titles only, choose the number of search results you want displayed on each page, and choose whether you would like preview images displayed with your search results.

Printing

Articles can be printed directly from your web browser, after selecting the article and clicking the "Clip this article" link.

If available, PDF versions of issues and pages can be downloaded for printing.

Using the VC Digital Library

Search Terms               

Remember that when searching primary sources you should use terms that reflect the material's context. For example, if you're looking for information about Maria Mitchell in the Diaries or Letters, searching for <mitchell> alone or <miss mitchell> will likely produce more hits than a search that includes <maria>, because students would never have referred to a professor by their first name in the 19th century. Also, think about terms that would have been used during the time period. For example, if you're looking for descriptions of early cars and driving, using <car> as a search term will give you results about trolleys and trains. However a search for <automobile>, <auto>, or <motor> is more successful.   

General Collections Search

This search includes most but not all of the collections in the Digital Library. See this list for more details.

Use the box in the upper right so do a keyword search of several collections at once.

Note: putting in multiple words will give you results that include at least one of those words, not all of the words. Using quotation marks around a set of words will not search for a phrase. Wild card searching does not work in this search box either.

Basic Single Collection Search

Navigate from the Collections List to the specific collection you want to search.

Use the "Search the Collections Box" to do a keyword search.

Note: putting in multiple words will give you results that include at least one of those words, not all of the words. Using quotation marks around a set of words will not search for a phrase. Wild card searching does not work in this search box either.

Advanced Collections Search

Choose a field to search for a particular word in a particular field. Add additional fields as necessary with the + sign.

To search full text for multiple words, choose the text field, put a single word in each box, and add additional fields as necessary with the + sign. This will give you a results list for pages that contain all of the words in your search.

The advanced search option allows for wild card searching. Wild cards enable the search for multiple words with the same root or for multiple spellings of words. This is usually done through the use of an asterisk <*>. For example if you wanted hits for both <auto> and <automobile>, entering <auto*> into the advanced search box will give you results that include auto AND automobile, but also autograph, automate, and autocrat.

Note: this will search across the collections on this list.

Browse

Go to bottom left "Browse" option. See a full list of all the collection descriptions, or browse across collections for titles, authors or subjects.

How do I Find Books at Vassar?

  • Search the online catalog by author, title, subject, or keyword for books, government documents, journals, videos and other items Vassar owns.
  • Try keyword first if you don't know what subject to search for.  Check subject headings at the bottom of the record to find other books on the same subject.
  • Identify the book's 
    • call number (where is it on the shelf?)
    • location (which room is it in?)
    • status (has it been checked out?)  
  • Use the Guide to Locations to find call numbers and rooms.  Print copies are at Reference or Circulation.

Vassar Home | Digital Media Zone | Learning, Teaching & Research Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu