Skip to main content Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College Libraries

Vassar College

ET Summer 2015: Writing Race in the US

Databases and Indexes

These resources cover journals and other material containing literary criticism.  Some of them contain full-text of journals, and those that don't usually provide links to the full-text if it's available via other databases in the Vassar collection.  It's important to notice whether you're searching full-text (eg, JStor and Project Muse), or indexing information (MLA Bibliography and Web of Science), and adjust your search terms accordingly.

All databases are available from the Library home page under Indexes and Databases alphabetically and by subject.

JStor

Provides access to an archive of important scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Using the "advanced search," you can limit your search to journals in specific areas and disciplines (African American Studies, Language and Literature, Feminist and Women's Studies).  Please note that for many titles, the most current issues are not available through Jstor.


Project Muse

A full text collection of scholarly journals in the humanities, Project Muse contains many titles that focus on literary criticism, and many that contain cultural criticism in general.


MLA Bibliography

Indexes scholarly journals, dissertations and monographs pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.  Useful because it includes many journals that aren't part of JStor or other full-text searchable databases.  Keep in mind that you're only searching article titles and subject headings, so keep searches simple (limited to author and book title), and pay attention to subject headings that may lead to better/more relevant results.


Black Studies Center

Contains The International Index to Black Periodicals, which covers scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, including full text for many titles. 


Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science)

Indexes journal articles in the arts and humanities. Dates of coverage: 1975 to present.


Discover

Provides combined searching of journal, magazine and newspaper articles, along with the catalog of the library's books and videos.  Note that you can use controls to limit your results to articles in scholarly journals.

Vassar Home | Digital Media Zone | Learning, Teaching & Research Center
Vassar College Libraries, Box 20, 124 Raymond Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY, 12604-0020
845.437.5760 | librarysitemgr@vassar.edu